DubWhores
Dont just have a look at the forum, sign up Smile!!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

DubWhores
Dont just have a look at the forum, sign up Smile!!
DubWhores
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

'Lights left on' buzzer mod for Mk1's

3 posters

Go down

'Lights left on' buzzer mod for Mk1's Empty 'Lights left on' buzzer mod for Mk1's

Post by chewitthewitt Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:42 am

Mk1 ‘Lights left on’ buzzer mod for pre-'89 fuseboxes

Someone else posted up a thread about the plug-in relay mod for the late (post '89) fuseboxes. However, after messing about with the relay and wiring for a bit I've got it working on the earlier fuseboxes

I’m not an auto electrician by any means. This is what I did to get the buzzer working on my ‘83 Golf Gti. Feel free to do the same but I can’t / won’t be responsible for any problems you may encounter should they arise

A - Find a donor !
The relay is a Seat part so you’ll need to locate one of the following Seat produced cars in the breakers :

Seat Ibiza 6K (’93-’02) or it’s Cordoba / Vario variants
Seat Inca van (’95-’03)
Caddy 9K van (’96-’05)
Polo Saloon / Estate (not hatch) – similar years to the Caddy van

'Lights left on' buzzer mod for Mk1's 376750303

B – Get the parts
The fusebox can be found above the drivers side footwell on the donor car. You’ll need to take off the drivers side glovebox and remove the cardboard undertray to get at it properly. When you do you’ll see something like this. The relay we want is top left

'Lights left on' buzzer mod for Mk1's 376751089

Carefully remove the relay from it’s plug. If you just pull on it then it’s likely that the relays cover will just come off. Wiggle it and maybe try and get a screwdriver behind to lever it off

Lift the fusebox from it’s mounts by pushing up the clips on the sides, then drop the box down